More in this section:

Your Community Hospital

Sarasota Memorial Health Care System, an 839-bed regional medical center, is among the largest public health systems in Florida. With almost 7,000 staff, it is Sarasota County’s largest employer. The hospital's Medical Staff includes more than 1,400 credentialed providers who represent 60 specialties. Over 750 members of the community contribute their time and skills as volunteers. 

A community hospital, founded in 1925, Sarasota Memorial is governed by the nine-member elected and unpaid Sarasota County Public Hospital Board

Sarasota Memorial is a full-service health system, with specialized expertise in heart, vascular, cancer, orthopedic and neuroscience services, as well as a network of outpatient centers, urgent care centers, laboratories, diagnostic imaging and physician practices, skilled nursing and rehabilitation among its many programs. It is the only hospital in Sarasota County providing obstetrical services, pediatrics, Level III neonatal intensive care, psychiatric services for patients of all ages and a Level II Trauma Center.

Our Mission

Sarasota Memorial strives to provide healthcare services that excel in caring, quality and innovation.

Our Vision

Our community will be served by the best healthcare system in the nation. Sarasota Memorial will be the best place to be a patient, the best place to work and the best place to practice medicine. Our extraordinary people, innovative clinical technology and effective use of information systems will set us apart. We will deliver services that are safe, result in desired outcomes and are consistent with current professional knowledge.

Our Values

To create an environment that supports and rewards:

  • Safety
  • Caring and compassion
  • Excellence and professionalism
  • Teamwork and trust
  • Mutual respect and recognition
  • Accountable and ethical behavior 

For more information on Sarasota Memorial’s commitment and service to the community, please see our Community Report.

Required Reporting, FL Statutes: Special Districts.