Hospital Board Installs 2018-2019 Officers

Hospital Board Installs 2018-2019 Officers

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

SARASOTA, Fla. (Nov. 20, 2018) – The Sarasota County Public Hospital Board, which governs Sarasota Memorial Health Care System, installed its 2018-2019 slate of officers today. 

Joseph J. DeVirgilio Jr., who has represented Seat 2 in the Central District since 2013, was re-elected chairman. He also served as Board Chairman in 2017-2018. The other new Sarasota County Public Hospital Board officers are as follows:

  • Vice Chairman: William Noonan

  • Second Vice Chairman: James Meister

  • Treasurer: Sharon Wetzler DePeters

  • Secretary: Gregory Carter

  • Assistant Secretary: Susan Tucker

  • Assistant Treasurer:  Darryl Henry


Comprising nine citizens elected by Sarasota County voters to four-year terms, the Hospital Board also includes members Tramm Hudson and Richard Rehmeyer, MD. Each November, the Board votes on a new slate of officers from its members. It also appoints community members and physicians serving on Hospital Board committees. The committees meet regularly to address important issues facing the health system, including strategic direction, finances and quality improvement efforts.


About Sarasota Memorial Health Care System 
Sarasota Memorial Health Care System is a regional referral center offering Southwest Florida’s greatest breadth and depth of care, with more than 900,000 patient visits each year. Its flagship 839-bed, acute-care hospital has been consistently recognized as one of the nation’s largest and best, with superior patient outcomes and a complete continuum of outpatient services – from urgent care, trauma and emergency services to laboratory and diagnostic imaging, home health, skilled nursing and rehabilitation. SMH is the only hospital in Florida to have consistently earned the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ highest five-star quality rating since the evaluation system launched in 2016.